September 2012 Moms
Options

Weaning off the boob

I plan to BF DS until he turns 1, then switch to cow's milk.  I couldn't BF DD so I'm new at this part.  I have dealt with over supply issues ever since the day I came home from the hospital..even 9.5 months later, they get engorged and leak when DS goes more than 6 hours without eat (at night).  I have increased his solids a lot and will continue to do so, but he still nurses 7-8 times a day.  I am just thinking that if I try to wean him in only 2 1/2 months, it's going to be tough on my body.  Maybe by then I'll be able to decrease some of his feedings so my body will be used to it, but people have been telling me as far back as when he was only a couple months old that my body would regulate soon, so I'm not too optimistic about it.

Any of you wean when you were still producing a lot of milk?  Did you take any supplements or do anything special to decrease your supply?
(hopefully I don't sound selfish for wanting to wean at 12 months..)
Married Since 09/2006, TTC Since 09/2010 
DX: Unexplained infertility, DH normal 
3 Femara cycles - Oct, Nov, Dec 2011, all BFNs 
IVF #1, ER 2/15 (5R, 4M, 4F), ET 2/18, Beta 2/29 = BFN :( 
Follistim + IUI on 6/25 = BFN 
Home Study Finalized 8/14/12! Profile Active - 8/17/12! 
Officially Matched 8/29/12, Our perfect angel born 9/25/12! 
Biggest surprise ever, unexpected BFP on 4/12/13! 

Our Angel through Adoption
 Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Our Little Miracle
Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Weaning off the boob

• Options