1st Trimester
Options

To start a new job or not?!

Would love some advice from other newly expecting moms. Here's the scoop:

I'm only 9 weeks along, first time mom-to-be. I recently moved across country for my husband's job. We don't really have a support system in our new city yet, as we've only been here 8 months. I'm a graphic designer & have been actively interviewing (& praying!) for work for months, but it often takes a long time. In the meantime, I've taken up freelancing from home. So once we found out we're expecting (only a few weeks ago), we decided that maybe I should shift my focus from finding an onsite full-time job to building up my client base so I can continue working from home during this period of transition.

Well (of course!), I finally landed an interview yesterday with my dream company. Here's the thing: I KNOW not to say anything about being preggo b/c (a) I don't have to! & (b) I'm not far enough along yet to even warrant telling an employer. If this were for a full-time position, I wouldn't even consider posting on a blog to get advice. BUT... it's for a 6 month contract to hire position.

So my long-winded question to anyone out there with worthwhile advice is this: Would you consider telling a potential employer (once an offer has been made!) that you are "expecting" IF you knew that your due date could potentially interfere with the contract terms? I'm torn b/c I truly feel the opportunity has strong potential of developing into a full time position after the contract expires, which I would love... but the turn-around time on the hiring process could be a while & if it's a minimum 6 month contract, but I'm already 3+ months along by the time an offer is even made, I can't decide if it would be wise & respectable for me to be up front so that they would at least not be blindsided. THOUGHTS?