1st Trimester

MTHFR gene mutation

Has anyone dealt with this during pregnancy? I was recently diagnosed with the heterozygous mutation. Just wondering what it means for during my pregnancy! TIA!

Re: MTHFR gene mutation

• I'm not dealing with this but if you're wondering what it means I'd ask your doctor. He/she should be able to give you a good idea of what it means for you while you are pregnant. 
  • I'm not dealing with this but if you're wondering what it means I'd ask your doctor. He/she should be able to give you a good idea of what it means for you while you are pregnant. 

Obviously I'm going to talk to my doctor about it. I'm not looking for medical advice, just asking about personal experiences.
  • Loading the player...
  • IFinTN said:

I am NOT a doctor--take this info like you would anything from the internet, with caution.

I am compound heterozygous for the MTHFR, meaning I have two heterozygous mutations.  Sounds like you only have 1.  Generally, doctors don't treat a heterozygous mutation on one gene with anything more than some extra folic acid or methyl folate in your multivitamin.  However, if you had a homozygous or compound heterozygous mutation, you may get treatment. Another test that determines if you need treatment is a fasting homocysteine test.  

MTHFR mutations mean you don't convert folic acid as well as others so you may need more of it in your prenatal vitamin. Additionally, it puts you at a higher risk for blood clots-which is why they check homocysteine levels. If your homocysteine is elevated, they may prescribe blood thinners like baby aspirin or lovenox/heparin. 

Talk to the doctor--since you already have children and pgs, I doubt they will do anything with the information other than possibly change your prenatal vitamin,  as you would be very low risk with only one mutation.
    I looked back at my paperwork...I am actually homozygous.