High-Risk Pregnancy
Options

Seizures

So I have had Epilepsy for just over 10 years. I am a traumatic brain injury survivor in 2002.  The biggest impact to my head, occurred in the left temporal area.  The biggest problem I have from my injury, is seizures.  I had 5 in 2004, all Grand Mals/Tonic Clonic (which are the most severe).  Which was when my actual diagnosis of Epilepsy occurred.  Over the years I have had many Simple Partial and Complex Partial Seizures.  I am still allowed to drive, and still work, full time (I'm an Occupational Therapist). 

I started feeling "off" last week.  More groggy, run down, and just "not right". I felt like my heart was going to beat out of my chest.  I could easily get hot flashes.  It was impossible to sleep at night b/c I would literally wake up w/ what I call my "rushes" (Simple Partial Seizures).  I checked and re-checked my blood pressure daily, several times a day.  Always normal.  I read up on pre-clampsia and eclampsia (seizures occur during pregnancy).  I did not have any of those.  I talked to the baby doctor, and he said it was most likely just stress and worry, as I am pregnant with my first.  He specializes in high risk pregnancy.  But he did tell me I needed to get an appointment with my Neurologist as soon as I could, to inform him.  I saw him yesterday.  He said I am in fact most likely having seizures. 

He said that seizure medicine tends to taper off around 20-24 weeks when pregnant.  (I was 25 weeks on Sunday).  It does not work as effectively.  I am on Keppra, was on 2000mg 2x a day.  He raised me to Keppra 2250 mg 2x a day.  It's only been 24hrs since this, so I don't feel "normal" yet.  I still feel off.  But I was able to almost sleep the entire night without waking up!  He is sending me for blood work at the beginning of next week (to see where my levels are with the higher dose of med) and then possibly an EEG.