Toddlers: 24 Months+

Potty HELP!

My DD is 27 months...I have been introducing the potty since 18 months or so. I have her potty seat in the bathroom and always explain to her what it is for. When I go to the bathroom I will encourage her to sit on her potty. We have read books about using the potty as well as buying big girl underwear. She has no interest at all in using the potty. Never once have I been able to get her to sit on there without a diaper for more than  a few seconds. She has never once peed on the potty. I don't want to push the issue to make her scared or mad about it. I just thought that by now she would be progressing. Any thoughts, tips or suggestions are greatly appreciated! I feel at such a lost :(
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Potty HELP!

• She's not ready.  What's the rush?  If I were you I would back off and let her take the lead.  She might surprise you and take the initiative on her own.  But she might just not be interested at all yet.  That's okay.  27 mos is young.  

My DS is almost 23 mos and we've been talking the potty to him for the last month or so.  We don't make him sit there but he can if he wants.  He usually sits up there a couple times per day but has only peed once.  But he likes to sit up there to be like his big sister.  I don't think he connects it to peeing or responsibility yet.  
  • I'm not in a rush. I just wanted to make sure it was normal for no interest at all. Thanks for your thoughts. I appreciate it.
  • Loading the player...