Babies: 3 - 6 Months

Sleeping with a pacifier....help!

DS2 has been super extremely cranky at bedtime this week. He has never STTN, the best I got was a few days of waking up once a night when he was about 3mo. Well all this week he has been waking up at least 3x per night. Once we figured out that he wasn't truly hungry, he just wanted his binky, it doesn't take as long to get him back to sleep. But he still wakes up squealing, it almost sounds  like he is in pain or scared himself awake, but he's not. It's because his binky fell out of his mouth and he can't get it back in.

I don't know how much more I can take waking up every 2 hours every night, I'm exhausted. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to do? DS1 was such an easy baby, STTN by 2mo, never took a pacifier. I feel like I've never done this before!

BabyFetus Ticker

Re: Sleeping with a pacifier....help!

• flclflcl member
    Ugh, that's rough and I'm sorry to say that I don't have very good advice for you (my LO stopped taking his pacifier at 1 month).  Is LO able to fall asleep without his pacifier or are you able to take the pacifier out of his mouth right after he falls asleep without waking him?  If not, your 2 choices are to either teach him to do so or you will be going in every time the pacifier falls out until he's able to reach out and get it for himself.  A friend's baby uses a wubbanub, which is a stuffed animal attached to a soother pacifier.  The weight of the animal helps her keep the pacifier from falling out.  GL.
  • We had the wubbanub but the Soothie says it's not supposed to be used after 3 months I believe. He doesn't always need the pacifier, he can fall asleep without it. It's just the last week that he has seemed to really want it more. I wonder if I can sew the wubbanub onto the pacifier that he likes?
    BabyFetus Ticker

• Loading the player...