December 2014 Moms

Stretching vagina for childbirth?

A friend was telling me that she would get her husband to use coconut oil and push down inside her vagina. It apparently helped with minimal tearing during childbirth. I thought it sounded a bit loopy, but I just did a quick google search and apparently it's an actual thing. Any STMs have experience with this? When did you start doing the "massages"? Am I insane for considering this? Lol

https://www.birth.com.au/preparing-for-birth/6-ways-to-reduce-tearing#.U9GBaim9Kc0
DS  12-1-2014
DD 10-29-2016
#3 due 10-13-2018

Re: Stretching vagina for childbirth?

• ebl2ebl2 member
    I remember people talking about it on my last BMB but I never did it. Like you, I thought it did sound a little crazy. So I'm sorry I have no experience with if it helped or not. I didn't do the messages and got a second degree tear. Honestly, that sounds worse than what it really was. My doctor did a great job stitching me up and I had little discomfort while everything healed. Just my two cents. 
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers 

image   image

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Loading the player...
  • bowlwomanbowlwoman member
    edited July 2014
    Perineal massage. My OB said it was a great idea when I asked about it before DD1 was born. He said olive oil was the best lubricant for it, in his opinion. Coconut oil would work just as well, though. Just be sure to put a towel down first if you do it, as it can get messy.

DH and I just found some instructions online and did it a few times in the third trimester. I only tore a bit during delivery, so maybe it helped. :)
    BabyFruit Ticker       
    DD1 - 8 years
    DD2 - 6 years
    BFP3 - 3/31/14, Harmony Test 6/5/14 - It's a BOY!

• I have had a friend that did it once and said it was uncomfortable and stopped. I think my vag is loose enough.