Natural Birth
Options

Aetna Homebirth

cig0010cig0010 member
edited July 2014 in Natural Birth
I recently switched to Aetna (policy states that they not cover homebirths) with my midwife and I am afraid that if I say that I am considering homebrith that the insurance company won't just make me pay out of pocket for my midwife's expenses (that's fine), but if I transfer to a hospital that they will deny the entire birth expense even in the hospital. I really don't want to ask the people at Aetna because I don't want my account flagged...

Does anyone have any experience with trying to have a non-covered homebirth and then transferring?

Has anyone told Aetna that they're having a homebirth and had it covered?

Giving birth any day now, so I'm freaking out...

Thanks!

Re: Aetna Homebirth

• Options
    I am no expert but I feel like if you transfer and they normally cover hospital birth that they'd have to pay for the hospital fees.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic     Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Patrick: born at home on January 14, 2014

• Options
    aboodtobeaboodtobe member
    edited July 2014
    I do not have Aetna, but I do have an insurance that does not cover home births. The previous comment is correct, your insurance should cover a hospital transfer. Keep in mind, however, that if you are transferring to a hospital, it would most likely be under an emergency situation not a normal birth scenario (unless, of course, you decide last minute to have a hospital birth). Which, especially if you are admitted, your insurance will cover (minus any copays, your deductible, etc). What you're going to have to look at is which hospitals/services/procedures are covered as in-network and which are non-network and which are not covered at all. This will help you to determine your potential out-of-pocket costs and maxes. Don't worry about being "flagged", it doesn't really work like that.