Pre-School and Daycare

potty training

How do you determine potty training success?  DS was 2 in May and has shown some signs that he's ready so when I got home yesterday afternoon (I'm a teacher so it was my last day) I decided to put him in underpants and give it a shot.  At 1st I was encouraging him every 15 min, I did that 2 years ago with my daughter and it worked great, and he went once or twice but refused most of the time.  He also wet himself once.  Today I'm encouraging him every half hour.  Many times he's refusing those times I let it go, but he's also gone several times.  He did poop in his pants, but he hasn't wet himself yet.  You think this is just luck or is he getting it?  He hasn't asked to go at all which it what I'd really like to see happen.  He's been up for 5 hours

Re: potty training

• yeah.yeah. member
    PT success to me is that I don't have to cue my kids (even asking them) and they don't have accidents.
  • I felt like there were 4 stages of potty training, and kids may progress through them at very different rates.  Some kids may go through more than one stage in a single day, or may be stuck at a certain stage for months.

1.  Child shows some interest in using the potty, but still wears diapers.  Child may use potty when prompted, and may ask to use the potty sometimes, but most of the effort is still coming from the parent.

2.   Child uses the potty enough to begin wearing underwear, but still has accidents.  The parent still reminds the child a lot, although the child may also ask to use the potty quite a bit.