Health & Exercise

Runners: Preggo pace?

How has pregnancy changed your pace? 

I've been running long distance for about 6 years.  My fastest marathon pace was in 2013, 3:46:52, an 8:39 pace.  10k pace was 7:47, 5k was 7:25.  Most of my running in the past number of years has been just training for an early spring half, followed directly by marathon training for fall marathons.  I don't do a lot of small races, just kind of run on my own.

My comfortable training pace was always 8:30-9min/mi.  I am now 22 weeks, and able to handle 10min/mi, but only running 3-4mi at a time, as my bladder is just so uncomfortable.  I'm just curious how much slower I will get, if I am even able to continue running.

Anyone further along and have input on how they have slowed as the weeks have gone by?  The summer heat is getting intense, and I'm so bored on the treadmill, so I don't have high hopes for maintaining 10min/mi for long.  How are you handling your runs and slowing paces?  Does baby like it?  ;-)

Thanks for any advice :)  Really hoping to stay active as long as possible!

BabyFruit Ticker
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
imageimage

Winston is ready to have a little sister!

Re: Runners: Preggo pace?

• blu-eyedwifeblu-eyedwife member
    edited June 2014
    I was never as fast as you, was running at about 9:30 5k pre-pregnancy, around 10:30-11 comfortable pace.  I got slower almost immediately.  I ran a half a week before I tested and it was the slowest, most uncomfortable half ever.  At 28 weeks I ran a 5k at a little over a 12:30 pace.  I was still running up to and including the day I was induced a couple days before my due date, but by then my speed was probably closer to a 14 min. mile.  In terms of mileage, that only decreased because it took me longer to get in the miles in the 30 minutes I'd run before work.  On the weekends, I didn't have any problem with running longer distances, since time wasn't an issue.