C-sections

How long to wait before TTC?

Hi! I'm new to the C-section board. We had our first DD via RCS in January when I failed to progress after 18 hours of labor (her heart rate was dropping). She is now a healthy and happy little girl!

I am not asking for medical advice but I'm curious how long your practitioners recommend you wait before TTC after c section. We had been planning to wait until DD turned 1, so when I told my OB that, she said it was a good waiting/healing period. Now I'm starting to think we might want to start closer to when DD is 9 months. I plan to talk to my OB since she knows my history, just curious on what others have done/been advised. I've heard everything from 6 months to 18 months...

TIA!
Lilypie - (bDmZ)Lilypie - (SUYh)
image imageimage

Re: How long to wait before TTC?

• My provider recommended not trying until at least 9 months (so there would be at least 18 months between deliveries).  When he said that, we were talking specifically about the prospects for having a VBAC, but I think that is a commonly recommended interval for all women who have given birth.
  • My provider recommended not trying until at least 9 months (so there would be at least 18 months between deliveries).  When he said that, we were talking specifically about the prospects for having a VBAC, but I think that is a commonly recommended interval for all women who have given birth.
    WSS
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I was told to wait a year before trying to TTC.
  • Kim22Kim22 member
    My Dr. says a year. How many previous CS have you had? I thought you said this is your first but it was a repeat c so I'm not sure.
  • We were told to wait 6 months. I got pregnant when my first was 8.5 months and was allowed to attempt a VBAC.

TTC#1 for 19 months with PCOS and MFI IUI#3 + injectables = BFP!!!!  Beta#1-134(13dpiui) Beta #2-392(15dpiui) 
    #1 born December 2011
    TTC#2 - Beta #1 -51@10dpo Beta#2 -1353 @16dpo