Cloth Diapering
Options

Cloth for newborns

Hello everyone! I am new to this and am currently expecting so trying to figure out how to get started.

Do you start with cloth right away or use disposables for the first few weeks?

If you start with cloth, do you use one size or a newborn sized diaper?
Pregnancy Ticker

Re: Cloth for newborns

• Options
    I used cloth right away. You would need newborn sized.

The FAQs are a good place to start.
    imageimageimage
    imageimage
    Suddenly my life doesn't seem such a waste,
    It all revolves around you.
  • Options
    I used a mixture of cloth and disposables for the first week. My baby was tiny and used newborn diapers for three months.
    Lilypie Breastfeeding tickers Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers
    Parent of Baby Boy M, born December 2013 Angels: Miscarriage @ 9 weeks, May 2015, Chemical Pregnancy November 2015

Lilypie Maternity tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    We started in cloth as soon as we got home from the hospital. We used newborn diapers as DD did not fit into OS until 6-8 weeks. She was an average birth weight newborn who gained weight very quickly and still took that long to fit into OS.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    We were instructed to bring at least 20 diapers to the hospital with us for when our son will be born (counting the days now!). We are bringing disposables for that because I don't want to have to worry about keeping track of my cloth ones at the hospital if someone else (staff/nurse) changes him. Also, I don't want to have to come home from the hospital and need to do a lot of diaper laundry if I am there longer than the expected 24 hours after birth. But as soon as we get home with him, he'll be in cloth (at least that is the plan).