3rd Trimester

Dilemma- please help!

Hey everybody.  I have a dilemma that is weighing really heavily on me.  I am a non-tenured teacher in a district who is in the process of laying off a ton of teachers.  I am super nervous about it because my family depends on my insurance and second income.  Several months ago, my OB requested that I do a 3 hr glucose test because I had had GD with another pregnancy and she wanted to be on the safe side.  I took off of work, had it done, but the company (contracted out) lost my test results.  In fact they have no record of me being there at all, though they did bill my insurance.  I am now 30 weeks, and my OB wants me to have the 3 hour done again.  The problem is that my employer is being super stingy with time off, and not granting days off, and I would have to take a day off without permission to complete the three hour glucose.  It's not that my blood sugar is high, they are just taking precautions.  I am nervous about taking time off to do the test, as my employer has already denied me the time off, and frankly we need to keep the insurance/job as long as possible.  But I would never ever do anything to take a chance with my kid.... Any suggestions for what I should do?  Thanks in advance.  

Re: Dilemma- please help!

• Would it help if you had your dr. write you a note?
  • OMG that is horrible. Does your employer know that why you have to take off? Can you get a Dr note. Is that legal for them to not let you if the Dr recommends a test? I am so sorry. I a teacher as well and my principal has been super supportive.

Me (40) DH (42).......Married 7/1/11......TTC 12/2013.......BFP #1 12/30/12........EDD 9/8/13
    Spotting,clot 2/15/13 all ok......2/21/13 no heartbeat 11 w 4 d missed miscarriage........2/22/13 DnC :(
    BFP # 2 10.10.13...........EDD 6.19.14

Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers

• Loading the player...
  • I'm a teacher too.