2nd Trimester
Options

Sciatica during pregnancy

I'm just curious if anyone else has this symptom as bad as I have! I literally fell on my butt yesterday because it hit when I wasn't expecting it and hurt so much. It's been getting steadily worse for probably 4 or 5 weeks now, and I'm finally getting into the chiropractor today to get worked on a little. I majored in Human and Sport Physiology and briefly worked in Physical Therapy, so I understand the problem and methods to work on it, just never actually gone through it until now.

It hits at night, during the day, standing up from the toilet, rolling over in bed, basically anytime I least expect it. I'm starting to figure out certain movements to avoid or take slowly. My husband laughs at me every single time, but he doesn't realize just how much it hurts when it hits!

Any other mothers experiencing this?! Will the chiropractic help, with your experience?

Re: Sciatica during pregnancy

• Options
    One word. Pilates. I'll start to feel a twinge of sciatica, and then I go to reformer class, and its gone! I had sciatica really bad with my first pregnancy, and wish I would have known about pilates then. Now, I find that it mostly happens when I need to stretch out my hip flexors and hips! So, I do reformer class once/week with a prego friend of mine. Its so nice to do it with just a prego friend. Good luck to you.
    BabyFetus Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options

Any recommendations for at home pilates? I live in a small town, middle of no where and pilates classes are nonexistent within a 75 miles radius.

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    Osteopath! And they can often fix it in 1 or 2 sessions, whereas a chiro will have you back very frequently.

Oscar born October 2011

Miscarriage at 8 weeks (August 2013)

DD due September 1, 2014

BabyFruit Ticker

• Options